Cate Blanchett

November 6, 2006

When I try to picture Cate Blanchett in my head, I think I’m only actually picturing her about 50% of the time. The other 50% of the time I am actually picturing Tilda Swinton. And can I just say that just now I could not remember Tilda Swinton’s name for the life of me. It took me about 45 seconds on imdb to track her down, because I could not remember the names of any of the movies she has been in. I remembered she was in a movie with that foreign guy from E.R. (the one with George Clooney, not the one with Elliot Gould and …George Clooney), so I looked up his name and then saw that the name of the movie I was thinking of was The Deep End. And now while writing this I also remember that she was in Constantine and Narnia. So what the hell has Cate Blanchett been in, I wonder. Now I can only picture Tilda Swinton.

3 Responses to “Cate Blanchett”


  1. 10 hours later I still have not thought of a Cate Blanchett movie.


  2. An understandable confusion, they do kind of occupy the same sort of physical/actorly space.

    Cate Blanchett movies: Elizabeth. Cigarettes and Coffee (two of her, even!). Veronica Guerin.

    CRAP.

    I was doing so well, but I started thinking about how awesome Tilda Swinton was in the Narnia flick.

    Now I’m stumped too. What I can tell you is that Ms. Blanchett is appearing in Todd Haynes’ bizzaro Bob Dylan biopic. As Bob Dylan.


Leave a Reply

